The first attempts at gardening

I started my garden in May when I wasn’t really thinking about producing food for the sake of being a good steward of the earth I’ve been given (namely, my yard) but just because I thought it would be fun and everyone around here has a garden. I tried to sprout seeds using those ghastly expensive pod things they sell at Wal-Mart (yes, I have gotten over the need to shop at Wal-Mart) but most of the things did not sprout and if they did I did not get them in the ground fast enough. So I just went out one day and bought 9 tomato plants (no idea what kind – all you real gardeners can gasp now), 9 summer squash plants, and 9 cantaloupe plants. I stuck them in the ground with newspaper and mulch around them, watered them fairly consistently the first month and let them grow.

The squash was incredibly. We had way too much. I froze a lot of it for later use. The cantaloupe has also done really well, though now I am tired of cantaloupe and there is no real way to save cantaloupe for later. The tomatoes are suffering. The plants are freakishly tall but the leaves have started to yellow and dry up. I think I have not watered them enough at all through this hot spell.

At this point I think there’s not a lot that I can do to save these tomatoes. A lot of them are coming up with black spots. I just got a canner too (it’s huge!!!) and I was planning on making up lots of spaghetti sauce, pizza sauce, salsa, etc. to use throughout the year. I think I still want to do that but it might be with tomatoes from the farmer’s market instead of my garden. Boo.😦

But, on the other hand, I am getting really excited about the garden for next year. I’m really starting to research the best ways to water, fertilize, and plant. So I’m kind of wanting to be done with these silly plants that I know I really can’t save and work on something that I can improve. Seeing other people’s gardens, I know I can have a much better garden next year and that’s something I’m excited about.

3 Responses to “The first attempts at gardening”

  1. Julia Says:

    I can’t wait to have a garden! We have a basil plant on our deck that is not withstanding the heat very well. My parents were SO excited about growing tomatoes this summer, and they had a lot on the plant, but then the squirrels took them all! Very sad😦

  2. jackiesgarden Says:

    Good for you. We all have to start somewhere. My tomatoes start getting ‘end rot’ every summer, too. I buy a little box of lime and side dress the plants, and it clears right up. (Works really quickly as you water it and it goes directly into the soil and roots). And you really don’t have to do all the cooking with your tomatoes, right now, if you don’t want to. Just put your tomatoes on a cookie sheet and freeze them. When frozen, stick them in a freezer bag and throw them back in the freezer. Then they are not taking up too much room, ane are ready whenever you want to cook your sauces, salsas, etc.

  3. kediger Says:

    Thanks for the advice! That’s great!


Leave a Reply

