Reusable Grocery Bags

One of the things I have been trying to cut down on lately is plastic grocery bags. You get them everywhere and they have a major impact on the earth:

  • Each year over 1 million birds and sea mammals die from plastic ingestion or entanglement.
  • Less than 1% of plastic shopping bags get recycled.
  • 12 Million barrels of oil are used annually to produce plastic bags in the US.

(Stats taken from gethipgetgreen.com).

So I have a few bags that I usually take with me when I go to the store or farmers’ market. One of the bags folds up so I keep it in my purse/shoulder bag.

It’s kind of a pain to use the bags because in places like Lowe’s or Target the cashier always looks at me like I’m a bit nuts. Or I don’t catch them in time before they put my purchase in a plastic bag. “Uh, can you take that out of the bag and just give it to me. I have my own bag.” Luckily, the folks at Ozark Natural Foods always know to use my bags.

Today I completely forgot to bring the bags because I was in a rush to get to five stores in three hours. I just came upon this bag (to the left) which you can get in sets of 5, 10, 15, etc. I think I may buy a bunch and fill them with homemade goodies for Christmas gifts (yes, I’m already thinking that far ahead because I want to give handmade gifts this year). So, if you’re a friend you may be getting one of these for Christmas (or I may change my mind on what I want to give).

3 Responses to “Reusable Grocery Bags”

  1. TAE Says:

    Hannah is actually crocheting reuseable grocrey bags for us out of old Wal Mart bags we cut up. The irony is wonderful!

  2. Julia Willhite Says:

    I really need to get some, I am so freakin sick of the plastic ones, they spill out of our pantry closet every time I open it. We use them to take our lunches to work each day and also use them to line small trash baskets but for the most part they just sit around until we figure out how to dispose of them. I may order some from that website. Oh and I’m totally thinking about Christmas gifts already too!

  3. Emily Says:

    That’s one good thing about Walmart: you can take your bags back and put them in their green recycling box. We try to do that.


Leave a Reply

