When you have ducks…Get them in a row

Most people who know me know that I am a very motivated (at least when I don’t need a nap), type-A person. I don’t do well with chaos. I don’t do well with disorganization. In fact, taking everything out of a messy closet, throwing lots of stuff away, and putting everything back in a more orderly way is one of my favorite things to do (following after spending time with the hubby, reading, and hanging out with my girlies in Colcord).

The whole concept of living more simply appeals to my inner soul because I love for everything to have a place and to not feel cluttered in a space. When things are put away, the space seems to evoke much more peace. That is not to say that I don’t want my house to feel lived in, but just that there be room for movement, space for dancing if you will.

I guess I feel the same way about my life. I want everything to have a place, to get rid of clutter. For me, the best way to do that is to have a schedule. I am always revising and trying out different aspects of my schedule. Other people (God bless them) don’t need a schedule. In fact, having a schedule may make them feel constrained, but even though I like to organize my time, I still want to live my life. I still want to maintain margins in my life, times and spaces where I can slow down, rest, help a friend, visit one of the Right Start girls, mow the lawn, watch a movie. Those margins are very important to me (even if I have to schedule “margin time” sometimes).

Another aspect of this for me is creating healthy habits. As opposed to things on my to-do list, habits are things that I want to work into my every day life. Leo over at Zen Habits has a few guidelines for creating habits:

  1. Choose only one habit a month.
  2. Make it easy.
  3. Report daily.

For example, I have been working on getting up early. My goal is to feel (more or less) comfortable getting up at 5:30 every morning. I started out getting up at 6:30 for a few weeks, then 6:00 for a few more weeks, and now I am working on pushing back to 5:30. I make it easy by planning to do something I love when I get up. Yesterday I got up and took a long bath with a good book. Even though I’m not really being more productive I’m training my body to know that 5:30 is the time to get up.

I am also starting to report daily on the two habits I’m working on this month(I know he said to choose one but the other one is that I start posting here every day) over at Joe’s Goals. Eventually I will have a little chart that displays my success (or failure) over here.

And in all of this organizing, habit-building, margin-making I am working on I am trying to remember that my God is a God of grace. He doesn’t need me to perfect my life in order to love me more. He just loves me, and that is an incredible thing to know.

Leave a Reply

»
