Wednesday Night Dinner

Okay, I know it’s Friday and I’m posting about Friday night’s dinner but I didn’t make dinner yesterday. We enjoyed a lovely meal with a small group we were visiting.

Anyway, I was very happy with dinner Wednesday night because I feel like it is much easier to put together a full meal knowing that the main dish (usually the most time consuming) has already been prepared. Wednesday night we had an asian meal with Broccoli and Ginger Potstickers (not my favorite but Brad likes them), rice, grapes, and Grab Rangoon. Since the potstickers were already made (I just had to boil them for 3 minutes), I spent my preparation time making the rangoon with the leftover wontons from the potstickers and crab that I’ve been wanting to use for a few days. They were fairly easy to make. I guess I’m getting the hang of wontons. They are fried so not great for you but probably not any worse than those little pizza popper things you can get in the freezer section.

dsc_0001.jpg

Here’s the recipe (from the back of the Nasoya WonTon Wrappers package):

Crab Rangoon

3 dozen wonton wrappers

1/2 lb. crabmeat, drained and chopped

1/2 lb. cream cheese, room temperature

1/2 t. steak sauce

1/4 t. garlic powder

1 egg yolk, well beaten

Combine crabmeat, cream cheese, steak sauce, and garlic poder. Place 1 heaping teaspoon of this mixture in the center of wrapper. Gather edges together, moisten with egg yolk and pinch to seal. Deep fry in hot oil in bunches until golden brown, about 3 minutes. Drain on paper towels. Serve hot.

We had a bunch of these little suckers leftover so I froze them and will probably bake them in the oven some other time. They would probably be good for lunch.

Leave a Reply

