Downward Mobility

I’ve been thinking a lot about downward mobility lately. I think I heard that phrase more at the conference than I ever have in my life, and I’ll tell you, it was very freeing. It is so easy for me to get caught up in the American drive to “have it all.” So what is downward mobility all about? It’s about simplifying, getting rid of stuff, only living with what you truly need, not shopping for entertainment, resting, giving, buying wisely, not straining to achieve worldly titles.

What does it mean for me? I think in America, for everyone, it’s a daily battle to say no to ads. For goodness’ sake, we see on average 3,000 ads a day! Even if we are only saying yes to one a day, that still means we are purchasing a lot, needing to work more to have the money to spend. Brad and I are in a weird situation because we only make money from our business (our Right Start support goes only to the ministry), so sometimes it seems like Brad has to work a lot, and I do mean a lot. It’s a struggle to know how much work we need to take to earn enough money without killing ourselves and leaving no time for rest.

This balance is something we are still working on. I have especially found this week to be full of stuff “to do,” and I don’t want to live my life at the will of my to-do list. Right now I am working on developing brochures and recruiting info for Community Ministries at New Life Ranch (of which Right Start is a part). This coming week Right Start officially becomes a 100% mentoring ministry, so I will only be leading groups once a month or so. I will be focusing more on recruiting and supporting the mentors. I’m very excited about this change. I think we will serve more kids this way. We need your prayers!

Leave a Reply

