A very different church

Today I visited Lawndale Community Church and really enjoyed the experience (minus the migraine I had). It only took about 40 minutes to get from my parents’ house in the ‘burbs to Lawndale, which is a neighborhood on the west side of Chicago. Lawndale is one of the neighborhoods that Brad and I are looking at moving into, in fact, we would really like to be there because of the things happening in that community because of the church. Lawndale is a struggling, low-income neighborhood, but there are lots of wonderful things happening there. The church runs a health center, after-school program, drug recovery home for men (which runs a Lou Malnati’s!!), and a hip-hop church for youth. What I am most excited about is a ministry of the church that I discovered today: an arts center for youth that is going to teach music, dance, web design (!!), photography (!!), and cooking (!!!). This would be the perfect place to plug in, so I am going to get in touch with the pastor tomorrow and learn some more. I am really thrilled about getting into the city and getting involved with such incredible ministries, and I think that Brad and I will probably end up at LCC. I just keep praying that God will direct our footsteps in all of these endeavors.

Leave a Reply

