Handmade: Baby Onesie

I thought I would share my lengthiest work in progress, a striped baby onesie. Can’t remember what book it’s from – I made a copy of the pattern a long time ago. When I first started knitting the legs I thought they were supposed to wrap around and come together with one seam. So I started on the 3-6 month size and then ripped it all out thinking it was not wide enough at all. Then I started the 16-18 month size and realized that the legs have two sides – meaning there will be two pieces with two seams. But now I am stuck making the onesie at this size because I don’t have the heart to rip out hours and hours of work. Instead, I will buy more and more yarn. It is a fabulous wool/bamboo 4-ply, but very expensive. This will be saved for our own bambinos (or maybe by the time I finish it in the far, far future we will have one this size). Anyway, it’s a nice project and doesn’t require a lot of thought so I can enjoy my Battlestar Galactica or crazy documentaries while I work on it.

2 Responses to “Handmade: Baby Onesie”

  1. misty Says:

    kristen~love the onesie! my kids would be in college by the time i trid to finish that project, lol!
    the sweater pattern is from a little vintage pamphlet a friend gave me (isn’t it nice that all our non-knitting friends like to give us the stuff their grandmas give them?!?! well for me, since i don’t have a grandma, but i digress…).
    you should see all the projects–the leggings and shorts, dresses…. ahh, now if i could just have a little girl!🙂

  2. Shortchange Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Shortchange.


Leave a Reply

