Homemade: Mushroom Quesadillas

I have a friend from Mexico. Let me just tell you one thing about having a friend from Mexico: it’s awesome. For many, many reasons, but one of them is that every time I go to her house she literally “whips up” something fantastic. Oh, and also she has a never-ending supply of seltzer water but that is a different story.

A few weeks ago I was helping her run a garage sale and she made me brunch: mushroom quesadillas.  This recipe, in fact, that I am about to share with you.

First you need to prepare the mushrooms. Saute some diced onions in canola oil. Add a bit of minced garlic at the end and then add sliced mushrooms. I tried this with shiitake mushrooms the first time because I love shiitakes but the flavor was a bit over powering. It’s best to use cremini mushrooms. And make sure they are fresh. Then you will need a small can of these:

You want to pull out one or two of the chipotle peppers and dice them up nice and small because, let me tell you, these suckers are spicy! Add those to the mushrooms along with a teaspoon of epazote (which is a Mexican herb you may have to hunt for. I found it at Wal-Mart but I live in an area with a large population of latinos).

Once the mushrooms are nice and soft, heat up a frying pan to medium. Place one tortilla in the pan and add your mushrooms. Then top with cheese. My friend used queso blanco, but yesterday I used grated mozzarella and cheddar.

That’s it! A fantastic and very, very flavorful meal for lunch or dinner. Also please take notice, because I like to brag, that I made the tortillas also. I found flour tortilla mix at Wal-Mart, and the tortillas were pretty simple to make (much better than our previous attempts at making them from scratch – sometimes making from scratch is just not possible no matter how hard I try).

Mushroom Quesadillas (courtesy of my friend Karin)

  • 1 lb. cremini mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 t. garlic, minced
  • 1 T. canola oil
  • 2 La Costena chipotle peppers, diced
  • 1 t. epazote
  • 1 c. shredded cheese (mozzarella, cheddar, queso blanco)
  • 8 small flour tortillas

Heat up the oil in a medium sized pot over medium low heat. Add the onions and saute until translucent. Add the garlic and saute for 1 minute more. Add the mushrooms, peppers, and epazote. Cook until mushrooms are soft.

Heat a frying pan on medium-high heat. Place a tortilla on the pan and then add the mushroom mixture on top of the tortilla. Top with cheese and another tortilla. Let the quesadilla heat up until the cheese is melted, turning once. Serve with salsa and sour cream.

One Response to “Homemade: Mushroom Quesadillas”

  1. Melanie Says:

    Mmmm those look delicious!!!! My husband is Mexican so I was so blessed to have known his grandmother, who always prepared something delicious! (I still can’t ‘get’ tortillas, though! DH has the best to compare them to!) You did an AMAZING job with them!


Leave a Reply

